--- title: "VM Migration Between Pools" slug: "vm-migration-between-pools" updated: 2026-07-02T00:12:21Z published: 2026-07-02T00:12:21Z canonical: "docs.workspot.com/vm-migration-between-pools" --- > ## Documentation Index > Fetch the complete documentation index at: https://docs.workspot.com/llms.txt > Use this file to discover all available pages before exploring further. # VM Migration Between Pools You can move a Desktop from one Pool to another. This is generally used to increase its RAM, disk size, or number of CPUs. It will retain its contents, user assignment and template. ## **Limitations** - Available for Azure VMs only. - Target pool must use the same OS as the version pool (for example, Windows 11 to Windows 11). - VM should already be assigned to a user. - Must be performed one desktop at a time. - Target region must be the same as the source region. ## **Procedure** - Log in to Control - Go to “Resources > Cloud Desktop Pools > *poolname* > Actions > Upgrade.” ![](https://cdn.us.document360.io/ad9153e1-c8de-4f56-94f2-b717a1fc3a68/Images/Documentation/f312efd3-a0c0-4266-a0da-e6e202ec5041.png?sv=2026-02-06&spr=https&st=2026-10-12T12%3A23%3A50Z&se=2026-10-12T13%3A23%3A50Z&sr=c&sp=r&sig=GtQjZIqb%2FPY3w9q3MW4GY%2Bj%2FDne6%2Bkb0%2FI0VC5BdS3I%3D) ### Notes on the Above Screen Shot - The table at the bottom shows only the pools that are compatible with desktop upgrades. - Upgrades are allowed for: - The same cloud only. - Equal or higher disk size. - But any compute capacity (like desktop upgrade API) - GPU to non-GPU and vice versa upgrade not allowed (like desktop upgrade API). - Pools used as Global Desktops can neither be the source pool nor the target pool. - The target pool should not be already assigned to the user. - The desktop cannot be upgraded if it is in anintermediary state (such as the 'ing' states: pausing, deallocating, Deleting, Refreshing, Rebooting, Redeploying). ### Upgrading - Once Upgrade is clicked, a new pop-up will show the following: Desktop Upgrade Page Please note: There are three options to migrate the VM to a different pool: Click here to keep the Current Desktop Name: Computer Name (Optional): Just upgrade, without making any change: - If “Keep the current desktop name” is checked, the “Computer Name” text box should not be available. - Select the destination pool from the target pool list and click on upgrade. - The pop-up is applicable when the checkbox to retain the desktop name is unchecked. All fields in the popup are mandatory. ![](https://cdn.us.document360.io/ad9153e1-c8de-4f56-94f2-b717a1fc3a68/Images/Documentation/4d9f1ad0-7a40-4705-ac96-2fb1bba76579.png?sv=2026-02-06&spr=https&st=2026-10-12T12%3A23%3A50Z&se=2026-10-12T13%3A23%3A50Z&sr=c&sp=r&sig=GtQjZIqb%2FPY3w9q3MW4GY%2Bj%2FDne6%2Bkb0%2FI0VC5BdS3I%3D) ### **Status during Upgrade** - A temporary tab “Upgrade” can be shown while an upgrade is in progress or failed. ![](https://cdn.us.document360.io/ad9153e1-c8de-4f56-94f2-b717a1fc3a68/Images/Documentation/4b93fc48-3b5a-4d99-9395-0b5c3dabb6f5.png?sv=2026-02-06&spr=https&st=2026-10-12T12%3A23%3A50Z&se=2026-10-12T13%3A23%3A50Z&sr=c&sp=r&sig=GtQjZIqb%2FPY3w9q3MW4GY%2Bj%2FDne6%2Bkb0%2FI0VC5BdS3I%3D) - Source Pool during upgrade: **Online** - Source pool for upgrade fail: **Error** - Target Pool during upgrade: **Online** - Target Pool for upgrade fail: **Fail** **Cancel Upgrade** In case the Desktop upgrade fails because of some reason like the right credential not being given as a result the destination VM fails to join to the domain. Users can cancel the upgrade process by selecting the action, enabled only when the upgrade fails. - Once an “upgrade” or “cancel upgrade” is completed successfully, the Upgrade tab no longer visible.